Starting the Day with a Flare, Protons and a Geomagnetic Storm

Jonathan-Tucker-1_1392888505_lg

Geomagnetic storms continue while an eruption on the west limb of the sun brings a flare, protons and possibly another CME our way.

Solar Eruption

The sun erupted with an M3 X-ray flare (NOAA Scale R1-Minor radio blackout) peaked in X-ray at 7:56 UTC  on Feb. 20, 2014 (3:56 EST) from sunspot group  AR11976, located near the solar west limb.
Xray_1m (2)Global (1)
This eruption also produced a 10 MeV proton event (NOAA Scale S1-solar radiation storm) that exceeded the 10 pfu threshold at 8:55 UTC (4:55 EST). Potential impacts from the proton event include: Minor impacts on polar HF (high frequency) radio propagation resulting in fades at lower frequencies.

Proton

In addition, this eruption sent out a westward directed CME that may provide a glancing blow to Earth. We have to wait for further data to know for sure.

20140220_0824_c2_1024

 

Geomagnetic Storm Continues

For the second time in 24 hours, a CME has hit Earth’s magnetic field. The impact happened Feb. 20th at about 3:00 UT  and resulted in elevated geomagnetic storm levels (Currently G2-Moderate as of 14:20 UT). This re-energized a subsiding geomagnetic storm that had induced Aurora over on Feb. 19th.

Kp

The continued stirring of our magnetosphere has brought more auroras around the Arctic Circle with the possibility of more at lower latitudes. Here is a look at just some of the amazing sights these lights have brought to the skies over the past two days.

[Not a valid template]

credit: NOAA/GOES/spaceweather.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *