Mercury Transit

There’s a little black spot on the sun today! Don’t miss it—these events only occur about 13 times per century! In fact, the next transit won’t take place until 2032.

 

November 11, 2019 • 7:35 a.m. EST (12:35 GMT)–1:04 p.m. EST (18:04 GMT)

Photo Credit: NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center

FOLLOW US FOR UPDATES!

The Sun Today on TwitterThe Sun Today on FacebookThe Sun Today on YouTubeThe Sun Today on InstagramThe Sun Today on PinterestC. Alex Young, Ph.D. on LinkedIn

Parker Solar Probe

Humanity’s First Visit to a Star

Parker Solar Probe is a historic mission, flying into the Sun’s atmosphere (or corona) for the first time! It will have 24 orbits around the sun, traveling at a top speed of 430,000 mph—the fastest man-made object ever! It can also withstand temperatures outside the spacecraft that reach nearly 2,500 degrees Fahrenheit (1,377 degrees Celsius)!

Launched August 12, 2018 at 3:31am EDT

Learn about our sun

The sun is a window into our universe! By studying the sun, we deepen our understanding of all the other stars you see in the sky & beyond…

Current Observations

The Sun as Seen by the Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) & the Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO).